Third-party entities

  • Réf. 0348
  • Date de publication : 10/06/2022

This directive governs the participation of the University of Geneva and its staff members in the governing bodies of third-party entities, the creation of third-party entities, and the domiciliation of third-party entities on University premises.

Preamble

One of the University's main missions is to contribute to the cultural, social and economic development of the community, in particular by creating value through its research and expertise (Article 2.2 of the University Act of 13 June 2008).

These interactions between the academic world and the local community undeniably bring tangible benefits for both the University and the community. They help to strengthen the University's standing and enable University staff members to forge essential ties with the business world and the broader society.

These interactions can be strengthened if the University is represented on the governing bodies of external entities ("third-party entities") and if its staff members can hold positions within those entities, for example as members of a foundation board or a board of directors.

However, these interactions can create conflicts of interest between the third-party entity and the University or between a staff member and the University. Such situations can be harmful to the University, particularly in terms of its reputation. As such, it is important for the University to be able to identify these situations.

This directive, which is key to ensuring the proper functioning of the University, sets out the principles and rules applicable to the participation of the University and its staff members in the governing bodies of third-party entities and the creation of such entities by staff members. It also governs the domiciliation of third-party entities on University premises.

Section I : Participation of the University and its staff members in the governing bodies of third-party entities

I.    Principles

1. Third-party entities

A third-party entity is any entity that is external to the University, regardless of whether it has separate legal personality.
Third-party entities can take various legal forms, such as a commercial company, a simple partnership, a foundation, an association or even a municipality.

2. Official or ex officio positions
An ex officio or official position is any position held on behalf of the University by a University staff member, regardless of its status1,  within the governing body of a third-party entity. The Rector's Office is responsible for appointing staff members that will represent the University within third-party entities.

3. Positions held in a personal capacity

This refers to any position that a member of the University's teaching staff holds within the governing body of a third-party entity in a personal capacity. The member must hold the position as a result of its professional capabilities, and the position must be related to its research or teaching field. Unless the University has previously expressed an interest to the contrary, the position is not held on behalf of the University, which means that the staff member does not represent the University, but instead holds the position in its own name and on its own behalf.

Any positions held in a personal capacity must be compatible with the staff member's role and duties at the University, as well as with the University's rules of ethics and professional conduct. The position must be fulfilled in accordance with the principles set forth in the directive on financial conflicts of interest.

The present directive does not apply to positions that are unrelated to the staff member's research or teaching field. However, such positions remain subject to the directive on financial conflicts of interest and to Articles 57 and 59 of the University's Staff Regulations (R-Pers).

This directive does not apply to positions that members of the University's administrative and technical staff hold in a personal capacity within the governing bodies of third-party entities2.  These positions are governed by Articles 9 and 10 of the regulations implementing the act on cantonal administrative staff (B 5 05.01).

This implies in particular:

  • The participation of a member of the University's administrative and technical staff within the governing body of a third-party entity must not prejudice the fulfillment of the staff member's duties at the University, nor must be incompatible with its role and function at the University.
  • The participation must be compatible with the University's rules of ethics and professional conduct. The position must be fulfilled in accordance with the principles set forth in the directive on financial conflicts of interest.
  • Before taking on such a position, the University's administrative and technical staff member working full time must obtain authorization from the Rector's Office to receive compensation for the position held. Authorization requests must be made through the University's register of interests.

 

II. Terms and conditions governing the participation of University staff members in the governing bodies of third-party entities

1.    Ex officio positions

1.1    Request by a third-party entity
As a general rule, the third-party entity must first submit an official request to the Rector's Office before a University staff member, regardless of its status at the University3,  can hold an ex officio position within the governing body of a third-party entity.

1.2    Appointment by the Rector's Office
The Rector's Office decides whether the University should be represented within the entity concerned, based on the scope of the entity's activities. If the Rector's Office decides that the University should be represented, it will appoint the staff member concerned, where applicable upon the recommendation of the dean or director of the relevant faculty or center.

In addition, the Rector's Office will:

  • set the length of the appointment
  • submit a formal mission letter to the staff member, setting out the University's expectations and the extent of its power of representation
  • ensure that the position is aligned with the staff member's job description
  • remind the staff member of the principles set out in the directive on financial conflicts of interest.

The staff member is appointed for the term stipulated in the third-party entity's applicable regulations or, failing that, for the term set by the Rector's Office. The staff member will be automatically removed from the position if he/she stops working at the University.

The Rector's Office can remove any University representative from its position at any time. Where applicable, it will seek prior approval from the dean's office or management team concerned.


1.3    Duty of disclosure
The representative must submit reports to the Rector’s Office as often as required by the Rector’s Office. The representative must regularly provide the Rector’s Office with all relevant documents about the third-party entity (e.g., articles of incorporation, financial reports, annual reports and any similar documents).

At the request of the Rector's Office, the representative must also report on the strategic importance of the third-party entity's activities for the University. In addition, he/she must inform the Rector's Office of any situation in which the University's interests diverge from those of the third-party entity, as well as any conflicts of interest.

Prior to any decision that could have major implications for the University, the representative must consult with the Rector's Office, which will provide voting instructions after consulting, where applicable, with the relevant faculty or center. The representative will submit a report to the Rector's Office about the outcome of the vote, copying in the relevant dean's office or management team.


1.4    Compensation
Any compensation paid to the staff member by the third-party entity must be passed on to the University. However, this does not apply to expenses not already reimbursed by the University.

1.5    Register of ex officio positions
The Rector's Office keeps a public register of ex officio positions.

2.    Positions held in a personal capacity

2.1    Duty to report
To ensure that risks relating to conflicts of interest are properly managed, members of the University's teaching staff must inform the Rector's Office before joining the governing body of a third-party entity in a personal capacity. The staff member must report the position through the University's register of interests, indicating the name of the third-party entity and the role to be held. The entry in the register is valid for 12 months and must be renewed if the staff member holds the position beyond that period.

2.2    Request for authorization

2.2.1    If there is a potential conflict of interest or the University's resources are to be used
If the position could potentially create a conflict of interest, as described in the directive on financial conflicts of interest, or if the University's resources are to be used, the member of teaching staff must first request authorization from the Rector's Office. Once granted, the authorization is valid for 12 months and a renewal request must be submitted at the end of that period.

2.2.2    If the staff member is compensated for the position
If the member of teaching staff is working full time at the University and receives compensation for the position held in a personal capacity, it will be considered additional employment within the meaning of Articles 52 et seq. of the University's Staff Regulations (R-Pers). Before taking on such a position, the staff member must obtain approval from its supervisor and from the dean's office or management team, and then obtain authorization from the Rector's Office.

2.2.3    Requesting authorization

Authorization request must be made through the University's register of interests. The request must contain the following information:

  • details about the third-party entity
  • a description of the position to be held
  • how the position relates to the staff member’s area of expertise at the University
  • the time to be dedicated to the position (annual hourly volume as a percentage)
  • a cost breakdown of any University resources used.

Authorization will not be granted if the position is not compatible with the staff member's role at the University, if it could prevent the staff member from fulfilling its duties at the University, or if it is not in keeping with the University's rules of ethics and professional conduct.


2.3    Responsability
Any position held in a personal capacity is the responsibility of the member of teaching staff alone. The University cannot, under any circumstances, be held responsible in that regard.

2.4    Safeguarding the University's interests
As a general rule, the member of teaching staff must refrain from doing anything that could be harmful to the University.

2.5    Use of University resources
If any of the University's human resources, other resources (including financial, logistical and IT resources) or intangible assets are to be made available to the third-party entity, the staff member must report this and provide a cost breakdown of the resources to be used. As a general rule, the University will charge the third-party entity for the costs incurred. Where necessary, a service-level agreement will be entered into between the entity and the University.

2.6    No use of the University's name
The member of teaching staff must ensure that its position within the third-party entity cannot be construed as a position held on behalf of the University.

2.7    Register of positions held in a personal capacity
The Rector's Office keeps a register of positions held in a personal capacity. Any such positions held by professors will be made public (University's public register of interests).


1 Includes members of the teaching staff and the administrative and technical staff.
2 The provisions of Sections II and III of this directive also apply.
3 Includes members of the teaching staff and the administrative and technical staff.

Section II : Involvement of a staff member in creating a third-party entity

1.    Authorization from the Rector's Office

All staff members, regardless of their status4,  must obtain approval from the Rector's Office before getting involved in the creation of a third-party entity whose activities are closely linked to the University's missions, as defined in Article 2 of the University Act (LU).  

In all other respects, the provisions of this directive apply to the staff member, regardless of whether its position in the new third-party entity is held ex officio or in a personal capacity.


2.    Register of related third-party entities
The Rector's Office keeps a register of third-party entities created by University staff members.

 

4 Includes members of the teaching staff and the administrative and technical staff.

Section III : Domiciliation of third-party entities on University premises

The Rector's Office must approve any domiciliation of a third-party entity on University premises, taking into account the nature and importance of the academic ties between the entity and the University, any positions held by University staff members within the entity, and the availability of University premises.

The Rector's Office must set out the cost of the domiciliation and the terms and conditions under which it will take place, including the length of time. Where necessary, a service-level agreement will be entered into between the entity and the University.
The domiciliation of entities whose activities are not linked to those of the University is, as a general rule, not authorized.

Section IV : Entry into force

This directive came into effect on the 10th of June 2022.

Version Objet de la modification Date de publication
1 Nouveau document 10.06.2022
Vérificateur/trice  Natacha Hausmann (Directrice des affaires juridiques)
Approbateur/trice Didier Raboud (Secrétaire général)

Dernières modifications : 28/09/2022

Entités tierces

  • Réf. 0348
  • Date de publication : 10/06/2022

La présente directive règle la participation de l'Université de Genève et de ses collaborateurs/trices dans l'organe de gouvernance d'entités tierces, la création d'entités tierces et la domiciliation d'entités tierces au sein de l'Université.

Préambule

L’une des missions principales de l’Université est de contribuer au développement culturel, social et économique de la collectivité, notamment par la valorisation de la recherche et de son expertise (article 2 alinéa 2 de la Loi sur l’Université du 13 juin 2008).

Ces interactions entre le monde académique et la collectivité présentent une valeur ajoutée indiscutable pour l’institution comme pour la collectivité. Elles participent en effet à son rayonnement et permettent à ses collaborateurs et collaboratrices de tisser des liens de proximité indispensables avec les milieux économiques et la société dans son ensemble.

Que l’Université puisse être représentée au sein de l’organe de gouvernance d’entités extérieures (ci-après « entités tierces ») et que les membres de son personnel aient la faculté d’exercer des activités au sein également de telles entités, par exemple en qualité de membre d’un conseil de fondation ou d’un conseil d’administration, permet de favoriser ces interactions.

Ces interactions peuvent être source de situations de conflit d’intérêts entre l’entité tierce et l’Université ou entre le/la membre du personnel et l’Université et être dommageables pour l’institution, notamment en matière d’image. De telles situations doivent pouvoir être identifiées par l’Université.

Outil indispensable au bon pilotage de l’Université, la présente directive fixe les principes et les règles applicables à la participation de l’Université et de ses collaborateurs et collaboratrices à l’organe de gouvernance d’entités tierces ainsi qu’à la création, par des collaborateurs et collaboratrices, de telles entités. Elle règle également la domiciliation d’entités tierces au sein de l’Université.

Chapitre I : Participation de l'Université et de ses collaborateurs/trices à l'organe de gouvernance d'entités tierces

I.    Principes

1. Entités tierces :
Est une entité tierce toute entité extérieure à l’Université ayant ou non une personnalité juridique propre.
Les entités concernées peuvent revêtir des formes juridiques diverses, comme une société commerciale, une société simple, une fondation, une association ou encore une commune.

2. Participation ex officio ou officielle :
La participation ex officio ou officielle doit être comprise comme la participation à titre institutionnel d’un collaborateur ou d’une collaboratrice de l’Université, quel que soit son statut1, à l’organe de gouvernance d’une entité tierce. La personne est nommée par le rectorat pour représenter l’Université au sein de l’entité tierce.

3. Participation ès qualités :
La participation ès qualités doit être comprise comme la participation à titre personnel d’un ou d’une membre du corps enseignant de l’Université à l’organe de gouvernance d’une entité tierce. Cette participation est motivée par ses compétences professionnelles et est en lien avec son domaine d’enseignement et de recherche. Dans la mesure où il n’y a pas de volonté préalablement exprimée par l’Université, la participation n’a ainsi pas de caractère institutionnel et la personne n’agit pas en qualité de représentante de l’Université, mais en son nom et pour son propre compte.

Toute participation ès qualités doit être compatible avec la fonction universitaire et l’exercice des devoirs de service ainsi qu’avec les règles d’éthique et de déontologie de l’Université. Elle s’exerce dans le respect des principes contenus dans la directive relative aux conflits d’intérêts financiers .

Les participations qui sont sans lien avec le domaine d’enseignement et de recherche ne sont pas soumises à la présente directive. Elles demeurent toutefois soumises à la directive relative aux conflits d’intérêts financiers et aux articles 57 et 59 du Règlement sur le personnel de l’Université.

Les participations à titre personnel de membres du personnel administratif et technique à l’organe de gouvernance d’entités tierces ne sont pas soumises à la présente directive2. Elles sont régies par les articles 9 et 10 du règlement d’application de la loi sur le personnel de l’administration cantonale (B 5 05.01).
Il en découle notamment que :

  • la participation d’un-e membre du personnel administratif et technique à l’organe de gouvernance d’une entité tierce ne doit pas porter préjudice à l’accomplissement de ses devoirs de service ni être incompatible avec sa fonction à l’Université ;
  • la participation doit s’exercer dans le respect des règles d’éthique et de déontologie de l’Université et des principes contenus dans la directive relative aux conflits d’intérêts financiers;
  • le /la membre du personnel administratif et technique à plein temps doit obtenir du Rectorat une autorisation préalable à l’exercice d’une participation rémunérée. La demande d’autorisation s’effectue au moyen du registre des liens d’intérêts de l’Université.

 

II. Conditions et modalités de la participation d'un-e collaborateur/trice de l'Université au sein de l'organe de gouvernance d'une entité tierce

1.    Participation ex officio

1.1    Demande de l’entité tierce
Toute participation ex officio d’un-e membre du personnel de l’Université, quel que soit son statut3, au sein de l’organe de gouvernance d’une entité tierce doit en règle générale être précédée d’une demande officielle émanant de l’entité concernée et adressée au rectorat.

1.2    Désignation par le rectorat
Le rectorat décide de la pertinence ou non d’une représentation de l’Université au sein de l’entité concernée, compte tenu du périmètre d’activité de cette dernière. En cas de décision positive, il procède à la désignation du collaborateur ou de la collaboratrice concerné-e, le cas échéant sur proposition du doyen ou de la doyenne ou du directeur ou de la directrice de l’UER concerné-e.
En outre, le rectorat :

  • fixe la durée de la désignation ;
  • adresse une lettre de mission formelle à la personne précisant les attentes de l’Université ainsi que l’étendue du pouvoir de représentation ;
  • veille à ce que la participation soit compatible avec le cahier des charges de la personne;
  • rappelle à la personne les principes contenus dans la directive relative aux conflits d’intérêts financiers.

Le ou la représentant-e est désigné-e pour la durée prévue par les règles en vigueur dans l’entité tierce ou, à défaut, pour la durée définie par le rectorat. Il/elle est relevé-e d’office de sa mission en cas de cessation de sa fonction à l’Université.

Le rectorat peut relever tout-e représentant-e de l’Université de sa mission en tout temps. Il sollicite le cas échéant le préavis du décanat ou de la direction concernée.

1.3    Devoir d’information
Le ou la représentant-e fait rapport au rectorat aussi souvent que ce dernier le demande. Il ou elle lui remet régulièrement toute la documentation pertinente au sujet de l’entité tierce (statuts, rapports financiers, rapports d’activité annuels ou tout autre document comparable, etc.).

À la demande du rectorat, la personne lui fait également rapport sur l’intérêt stratégique des activités de l’entité tierce pour l’Université. Elle informe également le rectorat de toute éventuelle situation où les intérêts de l’Université divergeraient de ceux de l’entité tierce concernée ainsi que de toute situation de conflit d’intérêts.

Il ou elle est tenu-e, préalablement à toute prise de décision comportant des enjeux majeurs pour l’Université, de consulter le rectorat qui lui donne les instructions de vote, après consultation cas échéant de la Faculté ou de l’UER concernés. Le/la représentant-e fait rapport au rectorat avec copie au décanat ou à la direction de l’UER sur l’issue du vote.

1.4    Rémunération
Toute rémunération versée par l’entité tierce au collaborateur ou à la collaboratrice doit être rétrocédée à l’Université. Sont réservés les montants versés en remboursement de frais qui n’ont pas déjà fait l’objet d’un remboursement par l’Université.

1.5    Registre des participations ex officio
Le rectorat tient un registre des participations ex officio. Il est rendu public.

2.    Participation ès qualités

2.1    Devoir d’annonce
Afin de pouvoir assurer une correcte gestion des risques en matière de conflit d’intérêts, toute participation ès qualités d’un-e membre du corps enseignant au sein de l’organe de gouvernance d’une entité tierce doit être préalablement annoncée au rectorat. Cette annonce s’effectue au moyen du registre des liens d’intérêts de l’Université en indiquant notamment le nom de l’entité tierce ainsi que la fonction exercée en son sein. L’annonce est valable pour une durée de douze mois et doit être renouvelée en cas de continuation de la participation au-delà de ce délai.

2.2    Demande d’autorisation

2.2.1    En cas de conflit d’intérêts ou d’utilisation de ressources de l’Université
Si la participation est susceptible de générer une situation de conflit d’intérêts au sens de la directive relative aux conflits d’intérêts financiers, ainsi qu’en cas d’utilisation de ressources de l’Université, le/la membre du corps enseignant doit, au préalable, solliciter l’autorisation du rectorat. Cette autorisation est valable douze mois à compter de sa délivrance et doit faire l’objet d’une demande de renouvellement passé ce délai.

2.2.2    En cas de participation rémunérée
Lorsque la participation ès qualités est rémunérée et qu’elle est exercée par un-e membre du corps enseignant à charge complète, elle est considérée comme une activité accessoire au sens des articles 52 et suivants du Règlement sur le personnel de l’Université. Elle doit être préalablement autorisée par le rectorat, sur la base des préavis favorables de la hiérarchie et du décanat ou de la direction de l’UER concerné-e.

2.2.3    Forme de la demande
La demande d’autorisation s’effectue au moyen du registre des liens d’intérêts de l’Université. Elle doit comporter les éléments suivants :

  • informations sur l’entité tierce ;
  • description de la participation exercée ;
  • lien avec le domaine d’expertise au sein de l’Université ;
  • estimation du temps nécessité par la participation (volume horaire annuel en %) ;
  • mention chiffrée d’une éventuelle mise à disposition de moyens de l’Université.

L’autorisation est refusée si la participation n’est pas compatible avec la fonction universitaire, si elle peut porter préjudice à l’accomplissement des devoirs de service ou si elle n’est pas compatible avec les règles d’éthique et de déontologie de l’Université.


2.3    Responsabilité
La participation ès qualités est exercée sous la seule responsabilité du ou de la membre du corps enseignant. La responsabilité de l’Université ne peut en aucun cas être engagée.

2.4    Préservation des intérêts de l’Université
De manière générale, le/la membre du corps enseignant doit se garder de toute action pouvant porter préjudice à l’Université.

2.5    Utilisation de moyens de l’Université
Toute mise à disposition en faveur de l’entité tierce de ressources humaines de l’Université ainsi que d’autres types de moyens (notamment financiers, logistiques ou informatiques) ainsi que de biens immatériels appartenant à l’Université doit être chiffrée et annoncée. Les frais encourus sont en principe facturés par l’Université à l’entité tierce. En cas de besoin, une convention de prestations est conclue entre l’entité et l’Université.

2.6    Pas d’utilisation du nom de l’Université
Le/la membre du corps enseignant doit veiller à ce que son activité au sein de l’entité tierce n’apparaisse pas comme étant une activité exercée pour le compte de l’Université.

2.7    Registre des participations ès qualités
Le rectorat tient un registre des participations ès qualités. Les participations ès qualités des membres du corps professoral sont rendues publiques (registre public des liens d’intérêts).


1 Membre du corps enseignant ou du corps du personnel administratif et technique.
2 Les dispositions des chapitres II et III de la présente directive leur sont applicables.
3 Membre du corps enseignant ou du corps du personnel administratif et technique.

Chapitre II : Participation d'un-e membre du personnel à la création d'une entité tierce

1.    Autorisation du rectorat
Toute participation d’un-e membre du personnel, quel que soit son statut4, à la création d’une entité tierce dont le périmètre d’activité est proche des missions de l’Université telles que définies à l’article 2 de la loi sur l’Université (LU) doit préalablement obtenir l’aval du rectorat.

Pour le surplus, les autres dispositions de la présente directive sont applicables à la personne, qu’elle intervienne ex officio ou ès qualités au sein de la nouvelle entité tierce.


2.    Registre des entités tierces en lien avec l’Université
Le rectorat tient un registre des entités tierces créées par les membres du personnel de l’Université.

 

4 Membre du corps enseignant ou du personnel administratif et technique

Chapitre III : Domiciliation d'entités tierces dans les locaux de l'Université

La domiciliation d’entités tierces dans les locaux de l’Université est soumise à l’autorisation préalable du rectorat qui statue en tenant notamment compte de la nature et de l’intérêt des liens académiques entre l’entité et l’Université, de la participation éventuelle de collaborateurs ou de collaboratrices de l’Université au sein de l’entité et de la disponibilité des locaux.

Le rectorat chiffre le coût de la domiciliation et en fixe les conditions ainsi que la durée. En cas de besoin, une convention de prestations est conclue entre l’entité et l’Université.
La domiciliation à l’Université d’entités dont les activités sont sans lien avec celles de l’institution n’est en principe pas autorisée.

Chapitre IV : Entrée en vigueur

La présente directive entre en vigueur le 10 juin 2022.

Version Objet de la modification Date de publication
1 Nouveau document 10.06.2022
Vérificateur/trice  Natacha Hausmann (Directrice des affaires juridiques)
Approbateur/trice Didier Raboud (Secrétaire général)

Dernières modifications : 15/07/2022